My Hopes for the New Year

I have never really been into “New Year’s Resolutions.”  I think I made some attempt at it a couple of times.  In some ways, I thought of resolutions as promises I made to myself, and they invariably ended up being promises I couldn’t keep.   It was always discouraging, so I’ve pretty much sworn off the making of resolutions.  However, the turning of a year is a natural time to reflect on the year past and the year ahead.

2013 for me was a year of change.  It actually started back in 2012.  In the months between April 2012 and today, I have changed jobs, said goodbye to a kitty I’d loved for 18 years, adopted a new kitty, had an attempted break-in at my apartment that was foiled by my awesome fuzzy-mutt, joined Weight Watchers and lost 75 lbs (only to gain about 25 of it back at this point), had significant department changes at the new job, gone on an extensive apartment hunt, sold my Jeep Wrangler that I’d had & loved for 12 years, bought a new Jeep Patriot, gone on two (and a quarter) significant vacations, had an almost-relationship that I am still processing/recovering from, moved into a new apartment in a new town, started a blog, and drafted a novel.

It has been a challenging time, to say the least.  I wish I could say with certainty that I’ve grown or changed for the better in this time.  Perhaps I have, but that is one of those areas I find difficult to judge objectively in myself.  What I do know is I still have a lot of learning and growing to do (and I always will).

Tonight I put 2013 behind me.  I hope I can store away the memories worth treasuring, retain the lessons and knowledge worth knowing, and let slip away everything that would hold me back.

While I won’t make “resolutions,” I am contemplating the year ahead and what I hope it may hold.  I hope for financial stability.  I hope for increasing physical and emotional health.  I hope for the courage to chase my dreams and capture them in words.  I hope for the strength to overcome my self-doubt.  I hope to build up existing relationships and establish new ones.

Happy New Year!


My Prayer for 2014

May fear become courage
May doubt become faith
May anger become grace
May curses become blessings
May trials become triumphs
May grief become joy
May apathy become action
May hate become love
May despair become hope
May each day begin in hope and each night end in peace

Sunset2

Leave a Reply

