Today, Tomorrow, and Yesterday

I know I’m overdue on posting.  I haven’t been able to get myself to sit down and focus on writing something.  So instead, I decided to share some old poetry of mine.  I wrote this set of poems on Father’s Day of 2005.  While it was not the first Father’s Day after my Dad passed away (in April of 1991), it was the first after my mom passed (in December of 2004).  I went to church that morning and of course the message was all about dads.  I was heartbroken, and missing Mom and Dad terribly.  I cried the whole drive home from church, and then wrote the following.  As I re-read these poems today, I get a little teary again.  Though almost 9 years have passed, during which I’ve changed jobs 4 times and moved 4 times, I still feel much as I did then.  I still miss Mom and Dad, though most days it isn’t as sharp as it was that day.  I see in these words hopes I had then that remain unfulfilled.  Hopes I still have, though sometimes I wish I could forget them.


Today

Today I wept
For faces I will never see again
For voices only echoes
Made indistinct by time

Today I wept
Coming back to empty rooms
For dreams unfulfilled
Yet held tenderly by hope

Today I wept
For a man they’ll never know
Who searches as I search
For what lies over the horizon

Today I wept
For children still a dream
Their laughter bright
But muted in the unknown

Today He wept with me
Held me close to whisper all is well
Drew near to hear my dreams in prayer
And send the answer winging on its way


Tomorrow

Today is all I have
So often my gaze rests
On what is yet to be
On what lies around the bend

Yet today is all I have
There is no more than here and now

If here and now is all there is
What am I to do with all my dreams
I stand lonely and confused
So very close, but separate
From all my hopes

I won’t accept this loneliness
The dreams will have their day
When the veil of solitude lifts
And my soul has found its way


Yesterday

The shades of yesterday
Still watching over me
Their voices echo counsel
In the memories is love

Their lives are lived and gone
And with them one who was
In those days danced the dreamer
Unfettered by fears or pain

Her feet are heavy now
Her music lost to grief
Yet in her heart the rhythm runs
And the melody is sweet

There is no going back
To the steps of yesterday
But soon will come a new tune
To send our dancer on her way

 

 

© Rebecca Van Bruggen and Bound to Wonder, 2013-2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rebecca Van Bruggen and Bound to Wonder with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

