Daily Prompt: Take That, Rosetta!

Today’s Daily Prompt is a fun one:

If you could wake up tomorrow and be fluent in any language you don’t currently speak, which would it be? Why? What’s the first thing you do with your new linguistic skills?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TONGUE.

For a long time, I’ve wanted to learn another language.  My schedule was too full in High School to fit in a language elective, but  I took a year of Latin in college. If I’m honest, since then I’ve just been too lazy to learn another language, but if I could wake up and be fluent?  How much would I love that?  So much that I couldn’t possibly pick just one.  I’m going to cheat and pick a few.  In no particular order:

Spanish.  I have a few reasons for this one.  My sister and her family spent a year in Mexico, and now often thread conversations with Spanish.  Also, when I was young I spent a (very short) time picking blueberries in my hometown, and it drove me nuts when I could hear the other workers speaking Spanish and couldn’t understand them.

Chinese.  Because who wouldn’t want to be able to speak like a Browncoat?  Also, Chinese would be fun to add to a repertoire because it is so different from Western languages.

Klingon.  Actually, once upon a time I knew a few words of Klingon.  Thanks to my brother’s Klingon dictionary, a High School friend and I learned a few phrases of Klingon.  A fun language for insults, and for sounding really angry even if you’re saying something nice.  Plus, you never know when you might need to ask a fierce Klingon warrior where to find the chocolate!  I also named one of my kitties Kip, after the Klingon word qIp, which means to be young, or stupid (she was both at the time).

Gaelic (Scots and/or Irish).  I’ve been fascinated by the Celtic cultures for a long time, and  I fell in love with Scotland while on choir tour there in College.  Gaelic is strange and beautiful.  If I was fluent, I would sing in Gaelic.  A lot.

Dutch.  My heritage is Dutch after all.

Both forms of Tolkien’s Elvish (Quenya and Sindarin). Tolkien is my favorite author and I admire his linguistic background.  The Elves are my favorite Tolkien race, and if I could speak (and sing) their languages, it would be way easier to imagine myself one of them.

Dog and Cat.  Sometimes I really wish I could understand my pets.  Actually it would just be fun to be able to speak to and understand all animals.

To me, the varied languages of the world are part of its beauty and wonder.  Even though I haven’t studied much, I enjoy being able to follow traces of similarity between some languages (that was part of why I wanted to take Latin), and see such extreme differences in others.  I love how language so fully ties in to any given culture, influencing and being influenced by music, poetry, manners, etc.  It also saddens me that such beautiful variety can also be the foundation of so many barriers and so much misunderstanding.

Now… I wonder what new language I will know when I wake up tomorrow…

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Take That, Rosetta!

  1. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  2. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That Rosetta! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

