Thankful – May

Month 2 of my Thankful posts. 🙂

Today I’m thankful for:

  1.  A new month, when the days will get longer and warmer!
  2.  A long-overdue visit with a friend!
  3.  Seeing my talented and beautiful niece play Beth in her high school’s production of “Little Women.”  Girls, you made me cry!  🙂  (Bonus:  Ikea!)
  4.  A quiet and restful Sunday, during which I allowed myself to just relax.  (Bonus: Star Wars day – “May the Fourth be with you.”)
  5. Hudsonville Deer Tracks ice cream.
  6. Recognizing a potentially cranky day and somehow stopping it before it got too bad.
  7. #2 of 3 “First Readers” has finished reading my NaNo novel.  She has lots of notes, but said she liked it!
  8. Enjoying a beautiful afternoon outside watching a couple neighbor-dogs play with my big mutt.
  9. Payday.
  10. A lovely spring morning, relaxing on my deck with Strider (and trying to teach him not to bark at all the neighbors).
  11. A beautiful afternoon at the greenhouse to pick out flowers for my deck, followed by ice cream on a dairy farm.
  12. Modern medicine.  Praying for my sister-in-law as she has her gall bladder removed today.  (Bonus:  My 25th follower on this blog!)  Update: all went well!
  13. In unit laundry.
  14. This first look at the CW’s “The Flash”!
  15. Celebrating the AMAZING Season Finale of the CW’s “Arrow” via a long-distance viewing party with my brother and sister-in-law.  Wow!!!  (Bonus:  The extended trailer for “The Flash.”)
  16. Friday.  Need I say more?
  17. A late night visit of my muse, which put me in good shape to start writing the next story I’ve been kicking around in my head.  Actually, this might have been on the 18th.  I don’t remember which side of midnight it started on.  (Bonus: New shorts, capris, and t-shirts that fit.)
  18. A fun day with family at Fifth Third Ballpark (go Whitecaps!).  This surprise was part of the 40 days ’til 40 countdown to my brother’s birthday!
  19. A quiet day at work.  I could get used to this.  Maybe I should have been a librarian.
  20. Being able to open my sliding door & windows to enjoy a beautiful late afternoon, and then listen to an evening storm!  In my prior apartment, I couldn’t open my windows even briefly without getting swarms of bugs coming in, so this is a big deal!
  21. Being able to take my dog to a professionals to trim his nails.  (Bonus:  Star Wars dog toys are a thing!  Strider has his own X-Wing now).
  22. A listening ear.
  23. The office closing early for the Holiday weekend!
  24.  My brother Tom & his wife Gina, on their shared birthday!
  25. A wonderful dog park, where Strider has the chance to be “all dog” for a while.
  26. The men and women, past, present, and future,  who put their lives on the line for our country.  Today, on Memorial Day, I honor and remember you.
  27. A day of beautiful contradictions.  Silence and Song.  Sunshine and Rain.  Motion and Rest.
  28. My 25th blog post (even if finishing it kept me up way too late)!
  29. Reading on my little deck, while neighbor kids play and adults chat, feeling the warmth of the evening sun balanced by a cool breeze, listening to the rustling leaves of the trees, and realizing that here, in the fourth apartment in 7 years, I’ve found a place that feels like home!
  30. Gathering just the right amount of courage to do something that to anyone else would be no big deal, but to me was well outside of my comfort zone.
  31. A small loss at Weight Watchers weigh-in for the second week in a row, which meant that I could build the second level of my Lego Tower of Orthanc.  BONUS: an absolutely gorgeous morning for a 3.1 mile walk on the Paint Creek trail.

Now that I’ve completed the second month of this thankfulness exercise, I’ve found that it really does have an affect on my attitude.  Just taking a moment to find and acknowledge something, however small, to be thankful for in every day not only brightens that particular day, but helps me to be more mindful of those things every day.  While this, as anything else, is made easier by practicing, it is still not easy to find something every day.  Sometimes all I can find is something mundane, like in unit laundry or payday, while other days there are a few that make it hard to pick just one.  That doesn’t matter, as long as I’m remembering that even the roughest days are worth giving thanks.

What are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

