Walk with Me

My post today should have something to do with Fathers’ Day, but I find I don’t have much to say today, and I already posted the trio of poems I wrote several years ago.  So, I’ll share this one instead, written in October 2005.

 

Walk with Me

We walked once in this garden
You and I
Warmed by the sun
Soothed by the cool breeze
And we talked
You and I

You spoke your heart
Without restraint
And you listened to mine
Without fear
Nothing came between us
In this place

What made you fear?
Why hide your face from me?

Now my garden has grown silent
Our voices no longer break the stillness
Our feet rustle no more among the leaves
And I miss you

I miss hearing your unguarded heart
Miss your step beside mine
The path back to our garden
Is made clear by my love for you
Come back and walk with me!

 

 

 

 

© Rebecca Van Bruggen and Bound to Wonder, 2013-2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rebecca Van Bruggen and Bound to Wonder with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “Walk with Me

Leave a Reply

