Altos without Shoes

The following is a poem I wrote almost exactly 20 years ago, in April of 1996.  I can’t believe it’s been that long since I was a freshman in college!  Though it was not my major, music was the thread that tied my college years together and created the best friendships and memories.  I was the lone piccolo in the tuba squad of the Kiltie Marching Band.  I started out singing Alto in Women’s Glee Club and it took me two years to garner enough courage to audition for the Alma College Choir.  That led me to my first ever plane ride and an unforgettable experience in Scotland that still makes me homesick when I think of it.  I also had the honor of being a founding member of Alma’s chapter of Sigma Alpha Iota (SAI), a music fraternity for women.

It is at the request of a couple of my SAI sisters that I hereby attempt to suppress my embarrassment and share this bit of silliness.  Enjoy!

PS – no disrespect at all to the other voices.  It takes all parts to make a choir!


 

Altos without Shoes

We are the Altos
Who sit on the floor
We sing really low
And our shoes are no more

The tenors are squeaky
Sopranos, they squeal
The basses are fog horns
But Altos are REAL!

We are underrated
And we wish for more
Than our steady, persistent
And monotone chore

Yes, we are those altos
Who kick off their shoes
But sometimes our music
Sure gives us the blues

Please give us some power
We want no more fluff!
You all need to know
That these girls are Tough!

They can’t live without us
Those other three parts
If we were to leave them
They’d fall all apart

So we’ll sing for ourselves
We have nothing to lose
And you’ll someday remember
Those girls without shoes!

 


© Rebecca Van Bruggen and Bound to Wonder, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rebecca Van Bruggen and Bound to Wonder with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

Leave a Reply

