My Year of Hope

Once again it’s New Year’s Eve. I’m spending the evening enjoying my NYE traditions: movies (Star Wars marathon this year), snacks, writing-in the new year, and of course, plenty of introspection.

2016 has been a whirlwind ride. I suppose every year seems like it goes faster than ever, but this year truly sped by. I barely know where it went. Looking back over the year, I can’t help but wonder what I have to show for it.  There were bright moments and struggles.  I’ve made a little progress in some areas, but ultimately I can’t help feeling I’m in exactly the same place I was last year at this time.

I never make New Year’s resolutions.  I often think back over the year past and the year ahead. Sometimes I think about goals, but I refuse to make promises to myself I know I probably won’t keep.  This year, I’m choosing a different approach.  I am giving my new year a theme.

hope

I am claiming 2017 as my year of hope.  My focus in the coming days, weeks, and months will be on finding and embracing the things that give me hope: people, stories, music, activities.

This may be much more challenging than I anticipate. Hope seems to be in short supply in our world just now.  Anger, fear, and uncertainty seem to hold sway, their cacophony drowning out the subtle whisper of brighter things.  Still I will search for it. I may have to dig deep, seeking beneath the surface to find the hope that is carefully guarded in some hidden place. I’m sure I will have to continually remind myself to be on the lookout for each and every glimmer.

When I look at all my favorite books, songs, and movies, most of them have a theme of hope against insurmountable odds. All my favorite characters, my heroes, are those who hold on to hope, who create hope even in the darkest hours. I may not be very heroic, but I’m going to do my best to be that person who sees the hope.

There is never a guarantee, where hope is concerned; hope touches the edge of dream, but it is not a simple dream. It wants work, and sometimes it is bitterly painful – but no life is lived for long without it.
~Michelle Sagara, Cast in Flame

Leave a Reply

